Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:   Facebook   Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Become A Member
Men Women
Sri-Lanka Internationally
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Sri Lankan basketball. Please send us an e-mail.

Sri Lanka: HSC Blues earn Avante Garde Interclub title


Sri Lanka Basketball players to receive overseas donation - Jul 5, 2006

E-mail Greg:
Greg's Articles 
| Follow Greg on  Facebook Twitter

The Federation of International Basketball Amateur (FIBA) of Asia donated 10,000 US dollars to the Sri Lanka Basketball Federation (SLBF) to be given to tsunami affected basketball players.
The Sri Lanka Basketball Federation Tsunami Relief organising committee chairman and member of FIBA Ignatius T. Canagaratnam who represented the country at a Congress in Kuwait received the donation.
At the Congress former SLBF president Canagaratnam was re-elected as a member of the FIBA Asia central board for the fourth consecutive time to function from 2006 to 2010.
Canagaratnam who is a retired Deputy Inspector General of Police was the first Sri Lankan to be elected to the Asian basketball body when he achieved this honour in 1994.
Earlier in 2002 he was also honoured with a special recognition award at a ceremony in Malaysia for his contribution to the development of Asian basketball.
Canagaratnam was the president of the SLBF in 1994, 1995, 1997 and 1998 and was vice president in 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002.  

Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh, piles up win No. 1 - 1 Year ago
Sri Lanka played Bangladesh in their opening game of the South Asian Basketball Championship 2018 (SABA 2018), which acts as the pre-qualifier for the Asia Cup 2021. The SABA 2018 is played in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Lankan lads getting the ideal start for the campaign drowned the home team at full time, 65-34. Even though Bangladesh walked into the game after a win and being the home side, played some disappointing basketball against Sri Lanka   [read more]
Sri Lanka National Team 2018 - 1 Year ago
Starting five
Josheph Gayan
Praneeth Udumalagala
Don Roshan Randima
Isuru Prabath
Roshan Suranga
[read more]
Sri Lanka off to Maldives - 2 Years ago
The national Basketball players will begin their duty on the 18th of May in Maldives when the South Asian Basketball Association Championship 2017 kicks off for the fifth time. Looking back at the recent past of the championship, Sri Lanka won the silver in the year 2015 as they lost the final match to the tournament favorites India 93-44   [read more]

1 | 2
1 | 2

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2019 Sports I.T. Solutions Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.